Wednesday, March 16, 2016


So much for no blogging while in the Bahamas.

A few notes on some awards that were handed out today.

Hockey East announced their all rookie team, as voted on by the league's head coaches.

F- Colin White (BC)

F- Jakob Forsbacka- Karlsson (BU)

F- Max Letunov (UConn)

D- Casey Fitzgerald (BC)

D- Charlie McAvoy (BU)

D- Bobby Nardella (ND)

I have no clue why they named three defensemen and not a goalie. Obviously, the biggest omission is Miles Wood. This ranks right up there with the league naming Scott Wilson rookie of the year over Johnny Gaudreau in 2012. How in the world is Miles not on that team? He has more points, points per game, and a higher plus minus than Forsbacka-Karlsson. I understand he has had some issues with penalties but that should have minimal bearing on these type of things.

Steve Santini was named best defensive defenseman, which is not a shock considering how often he shuts down opponents' top guys.

Lastly, Thatcher Demko was named a Hobey Baker finalist, along with nine other players throughout the country. I'll expand on this more in a later post but I think he deserves to win the award.

Demko was also nominated as a finalist for the Mike Richter award given to the nation's most outstanding goaltender.

Back to the beach. Go Eagles.

No comments:

Post a Comment