Monday, April 18, 2016

Banquet Notes; McCoshen and Calnan Named Captains

The Pikes Peak Club hosted their 67th annual end of the year banquet yesterday at the Westin Hotel in Waltham. Unfortunately, Blogger could not go but from what I heard, it was another fantastic event with a good sized crowd. Those involved in that club deserve a ton of a credit for what they do behind the scenes. Here are the awards handed out by the organization-

Norman F. Dailey MVP Award- Ryan Fitzgerald and Thatcher Demko

Snooks Kelley Award for individuals who best typify Boston College Hockey- Teddy Doherty and Travis Jeke

William J. Flynn Coaches Award- Peter McMullen

James E. Tiernan Most Improved Player Award- Austin Cangelosi

Bernie Burke Most Outstanding Freshman- Colin White

Academic Excellence Award- Peter McMullen

Academic Achievement Award- Teddy Doherty

Congrats to all those guys on their well deserved recognition. 

The staff announced four captains for next season- Ian McCoshen and Chris Calnan will serve as the main ones while Austin Cangelosi and Ryan Fitzgerald will be alternates. After reading that, one would think McCoshen is coming back for his senior season but from what I have heard, he has yet to make a decision. The fact that he was voted captain can only help BC's cause. Coach York asked all four of the captains to stand up and challenged them to push the team as hard as possible in order to get back to the Frozen Four next season. Despite all the early departures, if no one else bolts, the Eagles will return 60% of their scoring from last season and with a solid recruiting class coming in, they should be in the hunt once again. 

Go Eagles 

1 comment:

  1. Please tell us how many games demko stole for u guys honestly I count at least 5 he's gone might be a lil bit different...