Tuesday, March 6, 2012

My All Hockey East teams and awards.

Now that we are entering the postseason, Hockey East will issue their all Hockey East first team, all Hockey East freshman team, and the individual awards. Here is what I think they should look like.

Player of the Year- I don't think this one will be close on Awards Night as I think Maine's Spencer Abbott rightfully deserves the award. Abbott has posted an amazing 19-37-56 line and is also one of the frontrunners for the Hobey Baker award.

Rookie of the Year- People love to point to the stats but when the stats are dead heat, you go to your eye test. In the case for ROTY, Scott Wilson and Johnny G have both put up great numbers but im going with Johnny Gaudreau. I am not being biased here (Ok maybe a little) but when you look who is the more talented and has more goals, it's Johnny G.

Coach of the year- Coach York has done another amazing job this year but this award will go to Norm Bazin of Lowell. Bazin has played a huge role in one of the biggest turnarounds in college hockey history for the Lowell River Hawks.

Best Defenseman- There is no defenseman I would rather have on my team than Brian Dumoulin. Clendening and O'Neil are close seconds but Brian Dumoulin has continued his stellar offensive play while improving his play in his own zone for the team as the season has gotten older.

Best Defensive Forward- I know this would the third BC guy I have winning an award but Barry Almeida deserves this award more than any other player in Hockey East. His play whether it's 5 on 5 or when the Eagles are down a man has just been outstanding.

The Goaltender Award. Ok I will go with a none BC guy because I don't want to sound too bias so I will go with Merrimack's Joe Cannata. Cannata has led the Warriors all year with his stelar play in goal but Parker Milner will probably win the award because he has the best stats.

All Hockey East First Team 

Defenseman- Brian Dumoulin-BC

Defenseman- Adam Clendening- BU

Forward- Spencer Abbott- Maine

Forward- Brian Flynn- Maine

Forward- Joey Diamond- Maine

Goalie- Parker Milner- BC

All Hockey East Second Team 

Defenseman- Will O'Neil- Maine

Defenseman- Chad Ruhwedel- Lowell

Forward- Barry Almeida-BC

Forward-Chris Kreider- BC

Forward- Matt Nieto- BU

Goalie- Joe Cannata- Merrimack

All Rookie Team 

Defenseman- Trevor van Riemsdyk- UNH

Defenseman- Alexx Privitera- BU

Forward- Johnny Gaudreau- BC

Forward- Scott Wilson- Lowell

Forward- Ludwig Karlsson- Northeastern

Goalie- Casey DeSmith- UNH

No comments:

Post a Comment